Is NASCAR Racing a Sport?

“sport
spĂ´rt/
noun
1.
an activity involving physical exertion and skill in which an individual or team competes against another or others for entertainment”
That is the technical definition of a sport. Is NASCAR racing (or Formula 1, Indy Car, whatever, but I’ll be focusing on NASCAR right now), a sport? In my opinion, yes. I’m also probably biased because I love racing, but anytime that your turning a car going up to 200 mph, rather than a typical highway speed limit of about 62 mph, you need to have a lot of core strength to keep yourself upright.
I would even say it’s a team sport. When speaking of this subject, one of the main points that you don’t want to miss is the pit crew. There is tire changers, who roll and carry 24 pound tires to and from the NASCAR. There are refuel people, who load up the car with gas, and at the end of the pit stop, they will push the car out into pit lane. The crew chief also acts as a coach. While I’m saying that NASCAR racing is a team sport, I should also mention that there are race teams. Two drivers for the same crew-chief are a team, and I believe they are sponsored by the same company, too. They don’t act like teammates, but I’ll take all the help I can get for this argument.
Jack Beckman, a drag racer, says that stock car racers, (NASCAR drivers) can experience 2-3 G’s during turns, as NASCAR’s don’t quite have the turning ability as open wheel Indy Cars and F 1’s have. It takes a lot to resist so much G force during acceleration, braking, and cornering.
I think NASCAR racing is a sport, but I’ll let you decide for yourself.
Leave a Reply

